top of page

A Star-Studded Afternoon: NAACP Celebrates 54th Image Awards Nominees

The NAACP recently celebrated the stellar achievements of the “54th NAACP Image Awards” nominees at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles. Hosted by Tyler Perry’s Sistas cast members KJ Smith and Novi Brown, the event recognized talented individuals nominated in more than 70 categories. The “54th NAACP Image Awards” will broadcast LIVE on Saturday, February 25, 2023 at 8:00 PM (live ET/PT on delay) on BET from the Pasadena Civic Auditorium in Pasadena.

The “54th NAACP Image Awards” Nominees Luncheon kicked off with a welcome speech from NAACP President and CEO Derrick Johnson, who congratulated the nominees and encouraged them to continue crafting impactful and inclusive stories celebrating people of color, as the importance of diverse representation becomes increasingly recognized across entertainment, politics, social justice, and the corporate landscape.

“Our nominees have excelled in their respective categories, representing our narratives and telling our stories from their authentic points of view,” said NAACP President and CEO Derrick Johnson. “The Black experience has never been a monolith. We are a diverse and dynamic community and we must push forward to highlight the culture and narrative that we’ve contributed – not only to this country, but the globe.”

Karen Boykin-Towns, Vice Chair of the NAACP Board of Directors, shared the following: “We are a part of a long history of people who resisted, persisted and carried a torch from generation to generation. Thank you to our nominees for continuing to tell our stories.”

More than 100 nominees graced the stage for a special “54th NAACP Image Awards” class photo and were presented with certificates recognizing their nominations, immense talent and overall impact to their respective fields. Guests included Adam Blackstone, Adrian Holmes, Tika Sumpter, Kyla Pratt, Loretta Devine, Tabitha Brown, Ruth Carter, Kandi Burruss, Wendell Pierce, Brandee Evans, Adrian Holmes, William Stanford Davis, Adrienne Banefield-Norris, Jayln Hall, Kid Fury, Gersha Phillips, Alisha Wainwright, Carl Payne, Cameron Wright, Erica Cobb, Gabrielle Dennis, Keith David, Joshua Boone, Gilbert Owuor, Terrence Terrell, Tye Tribbett, Zoey Martinson, Kevin Fredericks, Tobe Nwigwe, Iona Morris Jackson, and more. The afternoon also included a freestyle performance by Ray Wimley.

During the ceremony, Hollywood Bureau Senior Vice President, Kyle Bowser, presented the NAACP Dorothy Parker Ally Award to WME Co-Chairman Richard Weitz in recognition of his unprecedented support for charitable organizations impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. Weitz shared the award with his daughter Demi, the co-creator of RWQuarantunes. The pair raised more than $30 million supporting causes ranging from Covid-19 relief, racial justice, to health care and food insecurity. The award is presented to individuals or entities that consistently demonstrate a commitment to exploring mutual interests and activating initiatives that produce measurable results to the benefit of disadvantaged and marginalized communities.

“In my role as co-chairman of WME, I will strive to change the narrative of Hollywood to allow broader representation for Black content creators, studio executives, actors, writers and industry representatives,” said Richard Weitz.

Winners of the “54th NAACP Image Awards'' will be revealed via telecast on February 25, 2023, on BET.


bottom of page